Knowing My Story and Possible Changes In My Day

Be-bop a Ree Bop
Copyright, 2022, Molly Larson Cook
Tissue paper and acrylic paint on illustration board
20″x16″ with mat
$200

​I subscribe to a jazz site that offers advice for wannabe jazz cats. In fact, the name of the site is simply “JazzAdvice.” I’m not a wanna be jazz cat, but I always find something in the lessons that relates to my art.

The latest post included a statement that went straight to my jazz-loving art heart. The authors/advisors, writing about the blues, noted that playing the blues is not about notes and theory but about telling a story.

I couldn’t agree more. And I know that paintings about jazz are the same. Jazz is improvisational, abstract, a story-telling medium. And when I think about my art – improvisational and abstract – I know that jazz is the story I want to tell. Okay, jazz and poetry. Both are my personal stories and also, when played or written by someone else, full of meaning for me.

Plein aire painters tell the story of nature. Landscape artists tell the stories of places they love. Animal artists tell the stories of puppies and kittens and horses and other animals that appeal. Portrait artists tell the stories of the people they paint.

Me, I tell the stories of jazz.

I love all kinds of music and have since I was a child of parents who danced the jitterbug, had a big record collection, and especially liked jazz. I listened to music of one kind or another all my life from the 40s and 50s to Bill Haley and the Comets to Elvis and the Vietnam years, right into the 70s when we had some of the best.

Later I worked for a large symphony orchestra and an opera company, and I spent many a happy evening listening to both. And many a happy day learning more about the music.

I came from cowboy country and listened to the music it brought. And I danced. Cowboys love to dance! I didn’t live in Brazil, but I discovered bossa nova in my early 20s and that was love at first listen.

And yet, and yet, none of this music inspired me to paint. None of it was my story.

Listen to any artist describe their work, the stories they tell. Why did they choose this subject? What does it mean to them. Even sketch artists who capture quick snapshots of life, choose the subjects of that life.

What is it that tells your story? Gardeners speak of flowers and plants. Sailors speak of water. Aviators speak of clouds and sky.

What’s your story? Who are you? What do you have to say? What do you want the world to know about you and your life? What do you love enough to spend your time creating work about it? Speak to the world. The world is listening.

In other news…

I have changed the name of my website to Molly Larson Cook Art and the new address is mollylarsoncookpaintings.com. I’m adding new work to the site all the time and as always, I’m happy to sell the work directly from the studio.

I am also debating about a business license/business name to cover both my art and the writing/coaching. More on this as the future becomes clear…

Busy these days, too, preparing for the show that opens in August.

Now back to jazz…

2 thoughts on “Knowing My Story and Possible Changes In My Day

Leave a comment